Know the rules The Paceline Forum Builder's Spotlight

Go Back   The Paceline Forum > General Discussion

Old 02-23-2011, 09:50 AM

Weight Loss Question

I am making a concerted effort to lose about 8-10 pounds through micro-managing calories consumed. I have never tried this before, only more riding and a weak effort at some cross training with limited results. My target weight would be lower than I have hit in 9 years or so. I am down 3 lbs so far in a week or so.

So my question is how many pounds per week have people been able to shed without feeling like it affects you on the bike? I know the experts say 1 or 2 pounds per week can be tolerated but I was curious about people who have been through this.
Old 02-23-2011, 10:04 AM

More than 1-2lbs and you are likely losing muscle not fat -- which is not ideal. I've had far better success over the years by increasing calories burned rather than decreasing calories consumed -- building lean muscle via plyo or kettlebell workouts has been far more efficient than dieting.
Old 02-23-2011, 10:09 AM

Between mid-March and mid-July of last year I went from just under 200 lbs to 175 (I'm currently 165) which works out to about 1.5 lbs/week. I'd usually eat something small (fruit/toast) before heading out on the bike and usually at about 40 miles I felt "empty" and like I had to have something to eat now.

Strangely enough, after I reached my current weight, this doesn't seem to be an issue anymore and my "during the ride" and post ride need to eat seems to be about what it was when I weighed more.

I also noticed that I hit a plateau at about 187 lbs that I was stuck at for a while. I didn't change anything really but all of a sudden started losing again. My target weight was 175 and I was surprised when I kept losing. I've been between 165-168 for about 7 months now (no easy feat over the winter) so I'd say I've stabilized and this is my new "normal" weight.

Good luck in your weight loss!
Old 02-23-2011, 10:13 AM