Know the rules The Paceline Forum Builder's Spotlight

Go Back   The Paceline Forum > General Discussion

Old 09-10-2007, 10:18 PM

IBike power meter thoughts?

Just put one on my Cervelo Soloist Superlight. I'm new to power training. What's your thoughts on the device?

Jack
Old 09-10-2007, 10:44 PM

IPro

Jack,

I have got to tell you that I like the way you think and act(buy); I have been pondering one of these for some time. I look forward to hearing your thoughts and comments..

Scott
Old 09-10-2007, 10:48 PM

Not impressed.

Some of the reliability and repeatability depends on the solidness of the mounting and also of the amount of vibration, or lack of, from the road surface.

It's a great idea and introduces a cyclist to power training but seems like it will be problematic some of the time. I've seen how it measures power against the SRM and PowerTap in comparisons but I wonder what happens over a wide range of real world conditions.

Lastly, it is huge and doesn't look very good on the handlebars being so big, IMHO.

Power and heart rate monitors are tools and you still need a coach to make either work.
Old 09-10-2007, 11:41 PM
Vendor

From what I understand after talking to some coaches, it works resonably well for FTP and tempo intervals and below where you get into quasi steady state. It does not work well to record sprints. In sprint workouts, you are not looking at or using your PM anyway. It is only there to record your effort for review later. But it is nice to have the reliable and repeatable data that you get when doing sprints using an SRM or PT. I haven't heard how well it does for AT intervals (30 sec - 2 min) or VO2 Max intervals (3-8 minutes). It probably works well enough if the road surface doesn't change drastically.