Know the rules The Paceline Forum Builder's Spotlight

Go Back   The Paceline Forum > General Discussion

Old 04-03-2017, 12:28 AM

GPS when riding

Curious to know if any of you using GPS when riding, and reason????
Old 04-03-2017, 08:22 AM

Um, yeah. I use my 520. Typically more when I'm out and about solo (less so in a group ride, other than to strava). I like it as I'm still learning the area and the roads. Nice sometimes to have a route planned out as I know how far to go, that I won't be getting lost on major roads, and that there may be a coffee and/or ice cream stop coming up.

Also nice for the other data - temperature, speed, and all that fun stuff. That said definitely focused more on enjoying the ride and being in the moment.
Old 04-03-2017, 08:49 AM

to what extent are you asking?

do I use it to track my ride for upload to Strava and such later? do I use it to track the distance and speed of my ride? do I use it for uploading courses to the Garmin and following them? do I use it to look up destinations and route me to them? yes, yes, yes, and yes.
Old 04-03-2017, 08:57 AM

It comes in handy when lost in an area without a lot of people to ask directions of...especially when you are not fluent in the language (I live mainly in Quebec but am not totally fluent in French).
Old 04-03-2017, 09:13 AM

I agree, it can come in handy when lost, just used it a couple weekends ago when a buddy and I got lost in South Carolina. I also like to look at the maps later on and determine the elevation and so on. Just another fun and sometimes useful toy.
Old 04-03-2017, 10:10 AM
Serotta Dentist

I never ride where I might get lost, and I don't want my ride experience to be clouded by or reduced to numbers. No.
Old 04-03-2017, 10:27 AM

To track the ride only. SRM PC8. No navigation.
Old 04-03-2017, 10:55 AM

I use a SPOT tracker on longer rides in remote areas for rather sad reasons.