Know the rules The Paceline Forum Builder's Spotlight

Go Back   The Paceline Forum > General Discussion

Old 09-17-2005, 03:34 PM

how long after deep tissue work should you wait before exercising?

the ART chiro (active release tech) i've been saying says i can exercise straight away after deep tissue work. i would have thought it's better for the area to settle down a bit first? maybe for 24 or even 48 hours?

i don't want an excuse to slack but i've always understood you want a muscle to not be sore before going at it.

any wise thoughts much appreciated!

nb: ART:

http://www.activerelease.com/about.asp
Old 09-17-2005, 05:16 PM
Ape and Essence

What do I know?! I am a deep tissue massage therapist for aboot 15 yrs. The advice I give athletes is to NOT exercise hard for 24-48 hrs. it may greatly reduce benefits of massage AND not likely you can get max performance out of those muscles. Feedback I've gotten over the yrs. from athletes confirms my recommendations. Comments like "oh man I tried to do some intervals and had NOTHING in my legs" lead me to think it is good advice to back off for 24 to 48. If you are not sore go for it, you are correct. However, light exercise esp. cardio that does not challenge muscles worked deeply the day or two before is a GREAT idea...gets the garbage out faster!

Hope that helps.
Old 09-17-2005, 10:48 PM