PDA

View Full Version : Having a sense of humor...priceless

Dave B
06-09-2011, 08:31 AM
Ladies and gents I would say one of the best attributes to have is a sense of humor. As a school teacher, I have the added benefit of practicing said sense of humor daily as I work with 6th graders. I have finished my 10th year of this and trust me my inability to be serious irritates most of my family, whilst also making for great fun.

So let us take a fun little trip and I hope I can provide a chuckle or two.

Yesterday I was eagerly awaiting my recent serotta purchase from Bill (Happycamper) of his MeiVici. I have never owned a bike like this and was a bit nervous as I haven't considered a Serotta for years (foolishly so). The bike got here fine and it has blown my expectations for what a bike can be purely on looks and craftsmanship.

So while waiting I decide to go for a mtb ride as I do love the empty trails that my summer schedule allows me. I pack up the 29er and head to our local trail. Remember it is Indiana and central Indiana at that so mountains are around 10 to 15 feet. This is like a short track trail I use my cross bike on to fly around. It is fun, finally open and with newly created/built trails!

So after two laps and several crashes as my handling skills have taken a huge loss in accuracy during the winter months I head out for lap three. I am tired and to be honest trying to find fitness again...I say again because there was a time in my life I remember being close to fit. i saw it once in a diner, but never was able to meet it.

So on lap three the farthest place from the car I flatted. No biggie, I'll pull out another tube, fix it and head back. Hmmmm wait no tube in here. Ok let me find my patch kit...crap it is on the Hampsten hanging in the garage.

Any duct tape...nope.

well crap looks like a nice few mile walk back. No big deal, but in Sidis it is almost criminal.