PDA

View Full Version : Nickel Free Watches - I am allergic to my favorite watch :(

Acotts
08-30-2010, 01:20 PM
So, I have been wearing a watch for 15 years now. All of a sudden, as of aobut 6 months ago, I started getting rashes from the Nickel.

Any suggestions for a nickel-freel watch?

P.S. _ Iknow that gold, titanium, and ceramic does not have Ni, but you never know if the back of the casing is stainless. They dont record that info on interenet sites.

Thanks,
Andrew

buck-50
08-30-2010, 01:24 PM
My dad gets the opposite- he can't wear watches because his skin eats them alive. 6 months on his wrist and the underside looks like it's been sitting in acid...

Acotts
08-30-2010, 01:30 PM
[QUOTE=buck-50]My dad gets the opposite- he can't wear watches because his skin eats them alive. 6 months on his wrist and the underside looks like it's been sitting in acid...[/QUOTE

I have never heard of that.

AngryScientist
08-30-2010, 01:34 PM
give me a price range and type of watch you're interested in Andrew...

AngryScientist
08-30-2010, 01:38 PM
citizen makes a decent and very affordable line of Ti. watches, and i can confirm that they are full Ti cases, including caseback.

http://www.bluedial.com/images/Items/BM7080-54E.jpg

Karin Kirk
08-30-2010, 01:40 PM
Have you seen the watch bands that sort of weave through the pins and thus cover the watch's backing? That would make it so the watchband is between your skin and the metal - might be worth a try if you are attached to your watch.

I have a kids watch from Target that has a fabric band like that.

CHF
08-30-2010, 01:42 PM
My girlfriend has the same allergy. She puts a piece of moleskin on the back of her watches and has no problems. Can't see the moleskin unless you take off the watch.

AngryScientist
08-30-2010, 01:42 PM