PDA

View Full Version : WWOT: rocker runners and hardwood floors

SadieKate
01-16-2008, 10:12 AM
Since this seems to be the go-to forum for house and kitchen questions, here's mine. What have you done to protect your hardwoods floors from wooden rocker runners if you don't/won't have an area rug under the rocker?

I just bought an antique rocker and my husband is thinking of glueing leather on the runners which would probably work fine but what about damage, probably really only fiscal as rocker bottoms get worn anyway, to a signed and numbered antique?

I'm just learning about living with hardwood floors, but I am perfecting my skating technique.

SK

72gmc
01-16-2008, 11:36 AM
We use felt strips with an adhesive backing. The adhesive should come off with a mild cleaner only--I haven't had reason to try, but it seems much less serious than hot glue or something like that.

I don't know where my wife found them, but they're pretty much the same as what this company offers:

http://www.countryplank.com/floorprotectors.html

Ginger
01-16-2008, 11:48 AM
Yep. I go to the hardware store and pick up some of those adhesive back felt strips and apply them to the runners.

Seems to work well for me.

SadieKate
01-16-2008, 12:18 PM
Has anyone found the felt strips wider than 1/2"? Or the wider pads longer than 6"? I'm guessing that a rocker needs longer than 6". I appreciate your input as the hubby would prefer the look of leather but the potential glue removal issue just makes me cringe.

Someone suggested weatherstripping because it comes in more widths but I've only found the felt version in glue or tack application.

I may need to do a roll-out test to determine length once the rocker arrives. Will I need a calibration chart? :rolleyes: