PDA

View Full Version : Zipp 303 Firecrest tubular or Enve 25 tubular?

uber
03-20-2012, 04:43 PM
I am looking for an everyday wheel that will be light, fast, and not be prone to cracking if I hit a bump in the road. Anyone try both?

FixedNotBroken
03-20-2012, 04:47 PM
I have the 303 firecrest tubulars..nothing negative to say along with a comfortable ride. Great warranty, customer service and dependable product.

akelman
03-20-2012, 04:52 PM
FNB, I meant to say to you that if you want to buy a set of used 101s, just let me know. They're very low mileage, and I have both the Shimano and Campy freehub. That said, I still think handbuilts are the way to go.

As for the OP, the new 303s are really pretty spectacular. I have no experience with the Enves, but I'm sure they're great, too. And neither will be anything like delicate, I wouldn't think.

AngryScientist
03-20-2012, 05:43 PM
i think you should define what you mean by everyday wheel.

what type of riding are you doing, how much do you weigh, what kind of roads, etc?

FixedNotBroken
03-20-2012, 05:45 PM
i think you should define what you mean by everyday wheel.

what type of riding are you doing, how much do you weigh, what kind of roads, etc?

Good questions..my 303's aren't an everyday type of wheel because i like having the weight difference and feel compared to my training wheel sets.

uber
03-20-2012, 05:51 PM
Thanks. I am 6'2", 168 lbs. Steel frame. I ride in the Northeast; group rides (paceline), solo training. No climbs are more than 1-2 miles. In season, probably about 150 miles/week. More of a spinner than sprinter. I am not looking for race day only wheels, and would pick a wheel less likely to get
damaged by rough roads.

beeatnik
03-20-2012, 05:54 PM
ZIPP 303s. No question. I ride my 404s on the worst roads in the US and they feel bombproof.

I think I just jinxed myself.

DRietz
03-20-2012, 06:03 PM