Builder's Spotlight The Paceline Forum Builder's Spotlight


Go Back   The Paceline Forum > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-08-2017, 10:33 AM
eddief eddief is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 9,692
ot: do modems die?

Have had Comcast installed for a few years. That is triple play with phone, net, and TV. I was renting my modem for a long time and then decided to buy my own instead of rent. Think I paid upward toward $300 for the modem. Yesterday when I woke up the modem seemed dead. No lights blinking at all.

Called Comcast and they tried to troubleshoot over the phone and reboot the modem from their office. No luck. Sent out a live tech and he tested everything and thought my modem was dead. So now I am renting their modem again .

Why am is suspicious that Comcast could kill my modem if they wanted to? If they can re set it over the line, could they just as easily kill it?

Regardless the uptime over the years has been great and their service yesterday was exemplary.
__________________
Roubaix Di2, Curtlo S&S Etap
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-08-2017, 10:35 AM
Geeheeb Geeheeb is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Lansing, MI
Posts: 376
capacitors dry up, IC's fail, exceed tolerance. They can die. RIP your modem, but a large part of me is skeptical of comcast. Did you try a factor reset?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-08-2017, 10:38 AM
eddief eddief is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 9,692
what's a factor reset?

we plugged, unplugged, decabled, recabled, pushed the reset button on the back, still no lights at all.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Geeheeb View Post
capacitors dry up, IC's fail, exceed tolerance. They can die. RIP your modem, but a large part of me is skeptical of comcast. Did you try a factor reset?
__________________
Roubaix Di2, Curtlo S&S Etap
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-08-2017, 10:42 AM
Marc40a Marc40a is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 300
A power surge can certainly kill it.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-08-2017, 10:48 AM
eddief eddief is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 9,692
well now i'm paying

$10 per month for full modem security. Their modem, their responsibility.

Interestingly enough I spoke to a friend yesterday who also lives in Santa Rosa and has Comcast and rents a modem. He woke up yesterday, his modem needed to be reset, but it worked after that. So maybe there was and electricity event in our town. His lived, mine died.
__________________
Roubaix Di2, Curtlo S&S Etap

Last edited by eddief; 08-08-2017 at 10:53 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-08-2017, 11:00 AM
Marc40a Marc40a is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 300
Quote:
Originally Posted by eddief View Post
$10 per month for full modem security. Their modem, their responsibility.
I'd reconsider, if you're in it for the long haul.

A DOCSIS 3 modem (the current standard) can be had for $50.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...0?ie=UTF8&th=1

At that rate, if it stays alive for 5 months (5 years, more likely) you haven't lost a cent.

I don't know what your router situation is but they're similarly inexpensive.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-08-2017, 11:03 AM
benb benb is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Bedford, MA
Posts: 5,425
To add to all the other things they are probably done with lead free solder for environmental concerns and that doesn't last forever.

*Definitely* buy your own modem. Comcast (I'm a customer) even has a list of approved modems.

I think mine was $40 last summer (Motorola). I don't do TV/Voice, just internet, but the key thing is there is no hardware in my house that is property of the carrier, so the # of games they can play is reduced.

I had Verizon for 6 years.. they gave me the hardware at one point, then tried to say you had to buy new hardware at your own cost (something insane like $250) or start paying a monthly fee to keep using the old hardware. The hardware they were selling for $250 was worth less than $100, and they have a pretty bad track record in terms of security updates... I don't expect Comcast to be much better.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-08-2017, 11:06 AM
FlashUNC's Avatar
FlashUNC FlashUNC is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Berkeley, CA
Posts: 12,691
Invest in surge protection and your own modem.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-08-2017, 11:33 AM
Mark McM Mark McM is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 5,928
A few questions:

How long have you owned/used your own modem? Might it still be under warranty?

Is the Comcast modem you are now renting a combined modem & Wi-Fi router? If so, are you aware that Comcast is likely using the Wi-Fi router to create a public Hotspot in your home?

https://www.extremetech.com/computin...nd-of-the-year

https://arstechnica.com/tech-policy/...blic-hotspots/

Last edited by Mark McM; 08-08-2017 at 11:42 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-08-2017, 11:48 AM
eddief eddief is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 9,692
dead modem is at least a couple of years old, maybe older

so I think I at least broke even by not renting for that period of time.

Yes, modem is combined voice, data, wifi. What happens if I'm a hotspot?
__________________
Roubaix Di2, Curtlo S&S Etap
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 08-08-2017, 12:05 PM
joosttx's Avatar
joosttx joosttx is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Larkspur, Ca
Posts: 4,979
I am sorry for your loss.
__________________
***IG: mttamgrams***
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08-08-2017, 12:11 PM
Polyglot Polyglot is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 792
I have been with Comcast for 16 years and am on my third modem. The first lasted 4 years and was supplied free of charge by Comcast as a sign-up bonus. When it "died", Comcast offered to rent me a new one at a monthly price that would have effectively paid for the modem in 2 years time. I bought the replacement myself and it ended up lasting 6 years before I started having performance issues. The latest one was also purchased outright and is still going strong after 6 years. I'm hoping to get a few more years use out of it but would not worry about replacing it if necessary (besides I still have modem No. 2 that still works, if sub optimally for the case in which my modem were to die unexpectedly)

HOWEVER!!!!! Comcast did add in an item charge onto my monthly statement a few years back for an equipment rental charge, which they claimed was for my personally-owned modem. This is apparently common practice with Comcast. They did refund the charge to me because I was sufficiently vigilant to catch it, but I would guess than many people would simply miss it amongst the many miscellaneous charges and taxes and fees that litter their account statements.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 08-08-2017, 12:35 PM
shovelhd's Avatar
shovelhd shovelhd is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Western MA
Posts: 6,382
A lightning strike can also kill a modem. Were there any thunderstorms in the area lately?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 08-08-2017, 12:38 PM
eddief eddief is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 9,692
dead modem lasted 42 months

new triple play Arris modem is $240. In some ways a no brainer, in others it's a crap shoot.

No lightening here I am aware of.
__________________
Roubaix Di2, Curtlo S&S Etap
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 08-08-2017, 12:57 PM
ftf ftf is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 489
Quote:
Originally Posted by eddief View Post
new triple play Arris modem is $240. In some ways a no brainer, in others it's a crap shoot.

No lightening here I am aware of.
240 for a modem is a complete ripoff. This modem will work: https://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...E&gclsrc=aw.ds

http://forums.xfinity.com/t5/Home-Ph...m/td-p/2632277

$50
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.