Builder's Spotlight The Paceline Forum Builder's Spotlight


Go Back   The Paceline Forum > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-30-2014, 10:46 AM
Gfi3's Avatar
Gfi3 Gfi3 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: CT, America
Posts: 61
Anyone else on Zwift?

Just got accepted to try out the beta version the other day and finally got to test it out last night. I have nothing but great things to say about it so far.

Downloading and updating the software took about an hour.

Connecting took all of 30 seconds and I was riding along on the island of Zwift.

As of right now it's only a 3 mile loop with a couple of segments if you want to see how you stack up against the other riders currently riding, but all the data you could want is right there on the screen.

I only had about and hour to ride last night, but it was the fastest hour on the trainer I've ever had. Looking forward to using it more frequently.
__________________
Fan of singletrack singlespeed single malt and single women
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-30-2014, 10:49 AM
dsimon's Avatar
dsimon dsimon is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Manassas Va
Posts: 1,244
I applied but have not been accepted yet
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-30-2014, 10:54 AM
R3awak3n's Avatar
R3awak3n R3awak3n is offline
aka RAEKWON
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NYC // Catskills, NY
Posts: 10,773
I am still waiting as well, not that it matters now with a broken ankle.
Looks pretty cool but also looks like it would get pretty boring fast. Maybe as they add more and bigger maps.

Are you using a power meter?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-30-2014, 10:56 AM
Gfi3's Avatar
Gfi3 Gfi3 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: CT, America
Posts: 61
Yes. I think they are only accepting those with ANT+ PM's and ANT+ USB's for connectivity. Smoother connection than I was expecting though. Laptop picks up HR, Power, Cadence and Speed.
__________________
Fan of singletrack singlespeed single malt and single women
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-30-2014, 11:45 AM
ceolwulf's Avatar
ceolwulf ceolwulf is offline
なんでやねん
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: southern Manitoba
Posts: 1,566
I will be the minute I have a power meter and/or a Kickr.

How is it for graphics power requirements? I wonder if I will need to upgrade my machine. Would be running it on a Mac Mini with Intel HD4000 graphics which are not exactly high performance. (The Mini is hooked to my 50" plasma. I may never need to leave my basement again )
__________________
明日は明日の風が吹く
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-30-2014, 11:53 AM
Gfi3's Avatar
Gfi3 Gfi3 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: CT, America
Posts: 61
Graphics weren't amazing to be honest, but I wasn't expecting XBOX quality...

I think internet speed is more important than processing power honestly.

I do think that it will get boring after a few more sessions until they add more routes, but again this is still in beta and just to work out the kinks.

Also - for all you STRAVA users, you can upload the ride as if you were actually riding out on the island. It somehow thinks the island of Zwift exists and shows it in the middle of the pacific ocean. People have already created a variety of segments of course.
__________________
Fan of singletrack singlespeed single malt and single women
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-30-2014, 11:55 AM
kramnnim kramnnim is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Woodleaf, NC
Posts: 6,526
I've been using it for a few weeks. I think the site says that an HD4000 will run it, but I suspect the framerate might not be great. No Mac version yet.

Kind of cool to see some pro riders using it...Laurens ten Dam, Ted King...
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-30-2014, 11:58 AM
kramnnim kramnnim is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Woodleaf, NC
Posts: 6,526
The software puts in fake GPS data...the island is real (Jarvis Island) but is uninhabited and nothing like the tropical paradise shown in the game...
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-30-2014, 12:23 PM
carpediemracing's Avatar
carpediemracing carpediemracing is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: CT
Posts: 2,715
I'm waiting for their "Classic Trainer" module so that I can use my CycleOps Fluid2. I don't have a smart trainer.

My teammate just got on with his Wahoo or whatever last night or two nights ago. He loves it. Cat 1 I think, maybe a 2, but very serious. He said he got the Sprinter's jersey quickly, got a KOM, then promptly lost it.

Apparently the Zwift island is modeled a bit after the SUNY Purchase loop where one of the founders used to do sprints with the rest of us. He's modest in interviews but he was by far the best sprinter on Tuesday nights, when the groups got so big the patrons would split them in two. We had local National Team riders show up, lots of Cat 1s, etc, and it was quite the sprint fest on Tuesdays, and he could beat them easily.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-30-2014, 12:43 PM
Gfi3's Avatar
Gfi3 Gfi3 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: CT, America
Posts: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by carpediemracing View Post
I'm waiting for their "Classic Trainer" module so that I can use my CycleOps Fluid2. I don't have a smart trainer
You actually don't need a smart trainer as I also have the fluid2. You just need and ANT+ PM and USB dongle. The ones that come with most Garmin watches work just fine.
__________________
Fan of singletrack singlespeed single malt and single women
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 12-30-2014, 12:58 PM
carpediemracing's Avatar
carpediemracing carpediemracing is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: CT
Posts: 2,715
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gfi3 View Post
You actually don't need a smart trainer as I also have the fluid2. You just need and ANT+ PM and USB dongle. The ones that come with most Garmin watches work just fine.
I'm on wired SRM. USB dongle I still need to get.

It's Zpower, according to the previously mentioned sprinter guy:
"you'll need to wait a couple of weeks when we have the Zpower feature available for classic trainers"
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12-30-2014, 02:14 PM
fiataccompli fiataccompli is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 898
I am on the current wave of beta riders & installed it last night. It's still waiting saying it is searching for various ANT+ signals and if I have time I'll actually hook up the hardware & give it a spin tonight. I thought that I would be able to go through the setup & explore it without actually having the inputs set up, but no dice. I have a 'dumb' trainer but HR, Power meter, cadence (and could have speed if I were to install a speed sensor..which I'd rather not bother with) and I still am not visualizing how it will all work.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 12-30-2014, 04:53 PM
dave thompson dave thompson is offline
You still here?
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Spokane, Washington
Posts: 10,026
Quote:
Originally Posted by csiowner View Post
I applied but have not been accepted yet
Army pukes aren't allowed!

Happy New Year Demitri.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 12-30-2014, 05:05 PM
Grinta13 Grinta13 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 93
(sigh) Waiting, too. I suspect the waiting list is pretty large considering the number of posts here in such a short period of time.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 12-30-2014, 05:51 PM
makoti makoti is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: NoVa
Posts: 3,822
I just added to it.... looks interesting.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.