Know the rules The Paceline Forum Builder's Spotlight

Go Back   The Paceline Forum > General Discussion

Old 09-30-2014, 05:41 PM

OT: Stock Markets/Investments. Any experts out there?

Just retired two months ago and rolled over my pension into an IRA with middle-of-the-road investments, risk-wise. So far, in the last 60 days, I've lost close to 30K from my portfolio. I'm new to this and certainly no expert; people tell me all the time to NOT look at daily results on investments, but sometimes I can't help it. Anyone here going through the same kinda stuff? -Jeff N.

Last edited by Jeff N.; 09-30-2014 at 06:05 PM.
Old 09-30-2014, 05:52 PM

Finance Ph.D.here with over 25 years of investing experience, and studied and still study most research papers focused on the investment performance of professional money managers like mutual fund managers, hedge fund managers, etc. In short, listen to the advice you mentioned about not looking at daily results. Indeed, I would lengthen that to not looking except maybe once a quarter or every six months so you can rebalance if necessary.

The overwhelming majority of studies on the ability of professional money managers to time the stock market or to pick stocks with superior risk-adjusted returns conclude that the professionals fail at these tasks. To hope to do these as an individual investor is next to impossible.

The problem is that if you get out when things get scary, you will usually miss the rebound and then wind up behind. Just be sure that you are well diversified across US and global stocks and bonds appropriate for your age, and then... just go ride around (JGRA)!
Old 09-30-2014, 05:53 PM
Boeuf Chaîne

What exactly is the problem?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Snap27.jpg (30.0 KB, 367 views)
Old 09-30-2014, 05:54 PM

The stock market is not tanking.
Is $30K a significant percentage of your portfolio?
Old 09-30-2014, 06:00 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by CNY rider View Post
The stock market is not tanking.