Know the rules The Paceline Forum Builder's Spotlight

Go Back   The Paceline Forum > General Discussion

Old 10-21-2013, 04:50 PM

wheel building question

I will preface this by saying I am a total novice when it comes to wheel building. So if this question is totally stupid then feel free to put me on blast.

Here's my question.

I have a set of 32h CK classic hubs that are currently laced to a set of mavic Reflex ceramic rims. The rear rim had a number of cracks around some of the eyelets and I'm considering my options. the obvious first option would be to replace the reflex with another reflex and be done with it. The issue is that to find another reflex ceramic seems to be both difficult and somewhat costly. Additionally, I really don't have a need for a set of tubulars as I just bought a set of carbon "race" wheels. Now to the meat of my question. Is it reasonable to think that I could find a set of clincher rims that I could use to build up the wheels and still use the same spokes? The spokes and nipples all look to be in fine condition and I'd love to get some use out of these hubs but can't justify spending a lot of money on a wheel set I don't actually need.

Again I will remind you that I am a wheel novice so please be gentle
Old 10-21-2013, 04:59 PM

Yes you can do that, if you know the ERD of the mavic rims now you have to find a clincher rim with a ERD close to it, +- 1 should do it.

There are some rim tables and stuff, you have to check in there, sure you will find something close enough.
Old 10-21-2013, 04:59 PM
tailgunning

just gotta find something with the same ERD

https://www.google.com/search?q=rims...hrome&ie=UTF-8

quick search looks promising
Old 10-21-2013, 05:02 PM
Epic=No Smiles

Yeah, anything with a 611mm ERD will work. Mavic Open Sport I think will work.
Old 10-21-2013, 05:46 PM

The H_+Son TB14 is a 610 ERD and should work just fine. That would be my choice as you get the classic look but in a wide profile.
Old 10-21-2013, 06:57 PM