Know the rules The Paceline Forum Builder's Spotlight

Go Back   The Paceline Forum > General Discussion

Old 01-19-2019, 04:59 PM

Tubeless Converts

I just started riding tubeless tires mounted on a Knight Composite Rim on my gravel bike and WOW they are sooooo comfortable and roll so nicely. I’ve never ridden a carbon wheel or tubeless and I’m amazed at the difference from my lightweight alloy rims (custom build Eastons 1300 gr). Is this a combo carbon and tubeless set up? Would like to hear from roadies who have converted. Pressure I know is higher so less comfort there. Has anyone done a tubeless on a 2 way alloy road wheel? How do u like it?
Old 01-19-2019, 07:53 PM

oh yeah, I've been using tubeless on HED Belgium rims and Campy Eurus wheels (these are probably 15 years old. Both set up great with tubeless.
Old 01-19-2019, 08:12 PM

Run tubeless on my Colango C50 with Shamal Ultra 2-way wheelset, with 25mm Schwalble Pro One tires. I use it has my grab and go bike. Easy to setup. I didn't do the floor pump thing etc. Just went and mounted how I do my MTB wheels. Compressor with the valve core out. seat tire bed, deflate, add sealant through the valve, replace valve core, pump up to pressure with floor pump. Easy stuff. Never understood why others waste time with the other processes.

I like the road feel. Find it more striven to PSI then tube. On my other bike I ride tubulars and still prefer those to tubeless. But that may be due to the nice tires you can get in tubular flavor. Either way it suites its purpose and will stay tubeless for the foreseeable future.
Old 01-20-2019, 11:14 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by huck*this View Post