Know the rules The Paceline Forum Builder's Spotlight

Go Back   The Paceline Forum > General Discussion

Old 07-12-2018, 06:01 PM

O.T. Any amateur radio nuts here?

Since I am off the bike for several weeks I decided to finally get my amateur radio license. I take my test next Tuesday. I have been taking the practice exams on QRZ.com and feel pretty confident of passing the technician exam. I also picked up a book by Gordon West that gives brief explanations of the answers. I am an electrician by trade so a lot of the material is very familiar.

Is there a Paceline equivalent forum for Ham radio operators? How about places to buy equipment?

I plan on buying a Baofang hand held to get my feet wet. After that, who knows. I am a gadget freak and the ham radio world looks like a place you can spend lots of money on fancy equipment that is way more than you need. Hmmm, that sounds suspiciously like cycling.
Old 07-12-2018, 06:48 PM

I've had my Extra class license for a long time now, and there are several forums for amateur radio interests. qrz.com is popular and has a swapmeet section as well. As good a place as any to start.

Good luck on your test.
Old 07-12-2018, 08:27 PM

I'm a Motorola two-way radio technician.

Not a ham, but I know some of the lingo.
Old 07-12-2018, 08:28 PM

I'm a Motorola two-way radio technician.

My FCC license is not a ham license but a Radiotelephone Operator's license.

Not a ham, but I know some of the lingo.
Old 07-12-2018, 08:42 PM

What you definitely need are good antennas.
Old 07-12-2018, 09:00 PM

I'm an Extra Class licensee, plus General Radiotelephone and Marine Radiotelephone licenses. I use them extensively in my work and live on them in SAR and emergency management applications.