Know the rules The Paceline Forum Builder's Spotlight

Go Back   The Paceline Forum > General Discussion

Old 03-20-2023, 09:04 PM

Compared to vintage Serotta steel and Ti bikes, Italian bikes be like...?

Just getting into road bikes in a semi-serious way, and I've got a 1996 CSI with a steel fork, and a 2002 Concours Ti Serotta with a carbon fork. Both have triple cranks, and are shod with Conti GP 5000s. I don't race, I ride (all my local competitors are too young, and I don't want to crush their tender egos at age 72). Target is 100 miles/week (last week 125 for example).

The Concours rides like a Porsche, while the CSI is more like a Mercedes, if I may draw an automotive comparison - having never driven either car. Since my only other road bikes are a 1983 Dawes Atlanta, 1985 Nishiki Prestige, and a late 90's steel Edge Cycles, I have no experience with Italian vintage bikes, or other higher end steel/Ti bikes of similar vintage.

So for all you current or former Serotta riders, what am I missing, or not? Compare and contrast the handling, comfort, geometry, and ride quality with << Insert bike name here>>. You have 5 minutes to complete your report, be brief, and complete using the supplied #2 pencil.
Old 03-20-2023, 09:49 PM

If you're going to go down that rabbit hole, you shouldn't try to group (stereotype) all of the Italian makers together. An Atala from that era might have had parallel 74/74 seat tube and head tube angles with a correspondingly tight wheelbase, while a Bianchi might have had 72/73 angles and longer wheelbase. Colnago fanboys would have been incensed at you trying to generalize their bikes with De Rosas, and the few guys riding Cinellis would have waxed poetic about the stability that came from their lower bottom bracket heights.