Know the rules The Paceline Forum Builder's Spotlight

Go Back   The Paceline Forum > General Discussion

Old 09-08-2024, 09:24 AM

Is a true 33mm CX tire faster in a CX race? (vs a gravel tire)?

I’ve got a Crux from 2021 (the previous gen) that I’ve been using as a gravel bike for 4 years now and it’s pretty good at that. It’s got 49mm between the stays, and I run a 38mm Specialized Tracer on a 25mm internal rim that inflates to ~41mm. I wouldn’t hate a bit wider tire for gravel, but it is what it is. It works well.

I’m going to be racing 4-5 CX races this year, none of which will be observing the max width of 33mm, so I’m planning on just using my 41mm Tracers as usual. However, in talking with a couple guys I ride with, they all think I’m nuts for not “investing” in some 33s, with the belief that my 38mm tire is waayyyy slower. I’m not sure I’m sold, this sounds like old thinking to me. However, I’m finding myself with an extra road disc wheelset and I was thinking of giving it a try. So is a 33 “actual CX tire” any faster than a ~41mm tire in any CX racing situation?
Old 09-08-2024, 09:45 AM

sounds like a bunch of roadie nonsense to me

I would wonder if a really good 33mm tubular might be a little better in some conditions, but I cant see a 33mm clincher being faster. Challenge sells the Grifo in 38mm tubeless, if i remember.
Old 09-08-2024, 09:51 AM

The max CX tire size is a binding constraint of the rules, not an optimized value.

The widest tire you can fit in your frame that still gives you enough mud clearance for the conditions will be fastest.
Old 09-08-2024, 10:14 AM

yeah agreed that wider should be faster for most scenarios, you just wanna make sure that your tire is knobby enough for slippery races depending on where you are
Old 09-08-2024, 10:52 AM
Old, Fat & Slow

I don't like the way my '38c' Vittoria tubeless tires feel when turning on the CX course. The casing is marked as 40, but since 38c is legal, that's what the label says.