Know the rules The Paceline Forum Builder's Spotlight

Go Back   The Paceline Forum > General Discussion

Old 05-20-2020, 10:53 AM

OT: buying a new office chair

I have been teleworking full-time for the past four years and part-time for the year or so before that. During this time I've mostly sat on a basic office chair bought ~1996 (back when I was in elementary school). The foam in it is completely shot and worthless. Don't really know how I stuck with it for so long, but I did. I guess this is another way of me saying perhaps my requirement for padding might not be so stringent.

Steelcase, Herman Miller, and Crandall (who refurbishes Steelcase chairs) are all having sales, and I'm wondering whether to go with a Steelcase (Gesture or Leap II) or a Herman Miller (either Aeron or Mira). Really don't know what are the factors that would make one more suitable on one specific model/brand. Fwiw, I'm 174 cm tall, about 71.5 kg. Could lose some inches around my waist, but even at my leanest (haven't been there in four years), I was only down to 68.5 kg.

So I don't think I'm that demanding on chairs, but something that encourages good back posture is a plus, as I have mild back curvature. Thoughts on any of the four chairs mentioned?

I'm also somewhat intrigued about the mesh seating surface of some of the Herman Miller chairs and wonder if such surfaces would make for a less clammy feel during the summer.

Thanks in advance
Old 05-20-2020, 10:59 AM

getting ready to buy one as well. I like this one best:

Sayl. Had some good reviews but I'd really like to sit in one first.
Old 05-20-2020, 11:00 AM

I have a Herman Miller Aeron at the office and it is really nice in terms of lumbar adjustability. I found it comfortable when sitting correctly in it but I got lazy and would slouch in it for 8+ hours. Totally negated the whole lumbar support of it.