Know the rules The Paceline Forum Builder's Spotlight

Go Back   The Paceline Forum > General Discussion

Old 09-17-2024, 07:45 PM

Campagnolo Levante for road?

I love them on my Crux with 42 Specialized Pathfinders for gravel.
I got an excellent offer for another set, and I'm contemplating getting them as dedicated road wheels.
Campagnolo states a minimum tire width of 38, slightly wider than I want. Would running 35 or even 32 on a 25 rim be a concern?
Old 09-18-2024, 01:12 AM

I think of the outer worth as the limiting factor - I think it’s just over 30mm on these (gorgeous) wheels. I am far from a mechanic, but a 35mm tire seems to be wide enough to handle hard turning on these wheels?
Old 09-18-2024, 02:18 AM

The rim is 30,8mm outer, 25mm inner and 30mm height. 25mm internal is not unusual on road rim/wheelsets in 2024. The 2024 ETRO charts indicate 28mm wide tires as minimum. Campagnolo themselves state 38mm but they 100% describe these as gravel wheels and 38mm is a narrow gravel tire, why would they validate a smaller tire? Personally I run a 30mm gp5000 on a 25mm inner 32mm outer rim and it fits flush with the rim and never had any issues with this fit.

At a bit under 1500 gram, 30mm height and being gravel wheels these are probably a very sturdy set of wheels suitable for all weather/condition riding.

Only concern i have is that they do are neither hooked nor hookless but have a "Mini-Hook". Not sure if this would work well if you use these rims with a narrow tire and relative high pressure but if the tires you would run are validated for hookless it does not matter anyway.

Last edited by Stainomo; 09-18-2024 at 03:31 AM.
Old 09-18-2024, 07:49 AM

I have a set of the Fulcrum Rapid Red Carbons (essentially the same as Levante) that I have raced/ridden with 33mm and 35mm tires without issue. Great wheels.
Old 09-18-2024, 08:14 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by slambers3 View Post