Know the rules The Paceline Forum Builder's Spotlight

Go Back   The Paceline Forum > General Discussion

Old 11-01-2018, 10:13 PM

Compass tires: from skeptic to believer

Apologies if you saw this post on I-Bob too.

Over the last year I’ve read all the rave reviews on Compass tires, sometimes seeming to be an almost cultish devotion. During that time I’ve ridden Pasela Panaracers, Rivendells, Schwalbe and Gran Bois tires of all sizes from 700x25 to 650bx42 and 26”. So I have limited experience to compare them to.

I was about to take advantage of a sale on some Vittoria Corsa G+ tires when a pair of basically new Compass Chinook Pass 28c tires with extralight casing popped up on Craigslist for $80. So I jumped on them.

I found them extremely easy to mount with levers. I pumped them up and was off.

With four rides in now of varying lengths on all sorts of pavement I can confirm what I knew within one minute on these tires: they are the most plush and comfortable tires I’ve ever been on. The effect was more profound than any saddle or cockpit change I’ve ever made and revolutioned a bike I already love to ride. I felt dialed in.

Amazingly, they have as much comfort and shock absorption as my old 650bx42 Gran Bois Hetres. I am averaging 2mph faster than I was on the same routes with the same cadences using 700x28 Pasela Protites.

I’ve heard nothing but good things about the Vittorias from many people I trust who said Compass tires really excel when you get to the larger sizes. But I sure am glad I jumped on this deal. Here are a few pics of the Wabi Special they now adorn.

Doug Bloch
Alameda CA USA

Last edited by Dougb; 11-01-2018 at 11:09 PM. Reason: Fixing images
Old 11-02-2018, 02:56 AM
Vendor

Thanks for posting your feedback. Would love to hear a follow up response after some longer term use.