Know the rules The Paceline Forum Builder's Spotlight

Go Back   The Paceline Forum > General Discussion

Old 06-04-2023, 09:44 PM
Vendor

Chain lubes for the ADHD generation

Yep, another chain lube thread! This one, as you can guess by the title, may be different! Yes I know I need to do more consistent chain maintenance, but executive dysfunction and a bad memory (except for vintage bike facts lol) mean my chains always end up greasy and dirty (wet) or dirty and too dry (dry). I don't always remember to clean my chain after it gets soaked, i probably let the bike start squeaking at me before I remember to relube occasionally. Help me choose a lube to fit my weird brain?

I live in Portland where it's wet half of the year. I'm a long time mechanic/shop owner and have used a wide variety of dry lubes and the old standby Dumonde Tech. Nothing seems to leave me with a smooth drivetrain for long. I haven't researched lubes in years and it seems like there's a lot of new tech. Quick waxes from Silca, ceramicSpeed's science lube, etc. The full wet crock pot waxing after cleaning in six solvents seems like a lot but if it's actually that much better and lasts forever I might be tempted to try.....But getting me to strip and re-wax eventually

What is the low maintenance lube of choice? I'm okay spending more money to make my drivetrain feel smoother, stay cleaner, last longer.

Thanks for humoring this absurd thread
Old 06-04-2023, 10:10 PM

I don't believe there is a truely non-greasy low-maintenance lube option that leaves your drivetrain super clean without some sort of compromise.

I wrote a thread on this that somehow (and inadvertently) generated about 50 pages of posts and pops up now again... and maybe I haven't learnt my lesson about keeping chain lube with religion and politics... but as a brief synopsis I use Silca Super secret, which is a drip wax lube and is sustainable in terms of not being too hard to live with while keeping everything clean.