Know the rules The Paceline Forum Builder's Spotlight

Go Back   The Paceline Forum > General Discussion

Old 08-23-2024, 11:22 AM

OT: advice on buying a used Mac.

I’m thinking of buying a used Mac Air 13. The big caveat is that I’m not technically oriented. And that’s putting it diplomatically. What questions should I be asking? Looking for 8GB Memory and 512GB storage.

I found this guide, but it’s way too complicated for me: https://www.martinnobel.com/techrese...-what-to-check

If anyone has a much simpler checklist, I’d really appreciate it. Thanks!
Old 08-23-2024, 11:27 AM

That's a really good list. If it's overwhelming, just check these three things:

#1 - iCloud activation lock

#2 - Specs are as described

#7 - MDM enrollment. Is is similar to item #1, but for corporate IT management. If the Mac is still locked to the company, and you'll have a tough time contacting their IT to unenroll the laptop.

#7 should be higher up on that author's list.
Old 08-23-2024, 11:30 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by slowpoke View Post
That's a really good list. If it's overwhelming, just check these three things:

#1 - iCloud activation lock

#2 - Specs are as described

#7 - MDM enrollment. Is is similar to item #1, but for corporate IT management. If the Mac is still locked to the company, and you'll have a tough time contacting their IT to unenroll the laptop.

#7 should be higher up on that author's list.
This was on a couple of lists. I don’t have a clue what this means. Can you break this down in simpler terms? Thanks so much.
Old 08-23-2024, 11:36 AM

Corporate equipment often has mobile device management (MDM) software so IT can push software updates, restrict what people can use, maybe even lock out users when they leave the company.

#7 is checking to make sure the Mac is no longer enrolled in such programs. Otherwise you risk buying a piece of hardware that is still tethered to some IT department. I.e. it's your not computer.