Know the rules The Paceline Forum Builder's Spotlight

Go Back   The Paceline Forum > Rides, Events, Gatherings and Charity events

Old 06-30-2016, 04:58 PM
Ride 'yer bike.

The next tour...

When I started riding there were a few riders who knew all of the best roads, and somehow connected them all to make the best rides ever. These days rides are either big events on simple routes that are kinda ugly, or people ride the same loops that they download from the internet. I want the old days back, I want to follow someone on wonderful roads that I could never find myself.

On July 9th we're gonna have the first "next tour", a route planned out by my friend Ian (our very own LeftyFreak) which is just like the old days - just follow the leader. To be honest, I ride with Ian every Thursday morning, but I want to bring more people into it, 'cause it's that good. I don't know how long the ride is, I don't know what the average speed will be. I'll leave it at this: If you're confident in your ability to ride, you should ask me for the details.

https://edsasslercoaching.com/rides/the-next-tour/
Old 07-02-2016, 12:19 AM
Princess Sweat

Wish I was still in New England.

Come out to SoCal huh?
Old 07-05-2016, 09:01 AM

Let me try to articulate what Ti Designs' idea of The Next Tour means to me...

We ride for the stories. The best rides have stories to tell, and when retold, they weave the fabric of our lives as cyclists.

The goal of the Next Tour is to create a ride that combines three elements--adventure, camaraderie, and challenge. Adventure means unexpected vistas, taking the less-traveled road, and seeing the familiar with new eyes. Camaraderie is about shared experience, whether with a single partner or a larger cadre. And challenge relies on seeking boundaries, pushing beyond what feels easy and comfortable.