Builder's Spotlight The Paceline Forum Builder's Spotlight

Go Back   The Paceline Forum > Bike Fit

Old 01-09-2017, 03:38 PM

When to increase saddle to bar drop

I have been riding for several years and run about 6cm of drop. I can ride move around on the bars pretty regularly but probably spend 60%-70% in the drops with no discomfort. Should I lower my bars for the aero benefit since I am looking to get into racing this year?
Old 01-09-2017, 05:58 PM

Depending on your size 6cm is pretty hefty. If you're north of 6ft tall, not so much. If you don't have access to wind tunnel the aero benefit is next to impossible to quantify.

If you're comfortable I have to ask, "if it ain't broke why fix it?"
Old 01-09-2017, 07:57 PM

If you're running a threadless system why not.

Move the stem down and put the spacer on top. Easy enough to change it back if you find it uncomfortable

If you're running quill- just mark where it was before.
Old 01-09-2017, 08:45 PM
Classics Fan

Agree with above. Give it a try. If it doesn't work, return to the position that works for you now.
Old 01-10-2017, 11:42 AM
Classics Fan

I forgot to add to the above that I'm somewhat skeptical of the aero dynamic advantages of being lower. I think it was Tom Boonen who (with the help of Andy Pruitt) changed his position to be quite a bit higher.

Listen to your body, but don't go chasing a lower position for the sake of being lower.
Old 01-10-2017, 11:45 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by MattTuck View Post
I forgot to add to the above that I'm somewhat skeptical of the aero dynamic advantages of being lower. I think it was Tom Boonen who (with the help of Andy Pruitt) changed his position to be quite a bit higher.

Listen to your body, but don't go chasing a lower position for the sake of being lower.
this makes sense to me. i think if you are spending half the time in each it sounds like you found a couple good spots. getting lower only goes so far for aero gains...
Old 01-10-2017, 12:14 PM