Know the rules The Paceline Forum Builder's Spotlight

Go Back   The Paceline Forum > General Discussion

Old 01-25-2020, 07:09 PM

Saddles...I know, I know

Look, saddles and shoes are pretty subjective, I get that. I’m getting older and less flexible and need a saddle recommendation, maybe one that has a cutout. I have three old style Selle Italia Flites that I have been nursing for twenty years and I’m thinking I’d try a newer saddle with a cutout as my wedding tackle gets numb at times, especially on the trainer indoors.
So, if you were a Flite rider, what are your thoughts?
Pat
Old 01-25-2020, 07:24 PM

I’ve tried the smp first and I picked one that was to hard. As far as flexibility it help a lot with the nose pointing down. If you’re not use to cut out make sure you get enough padding to compensate for a smaller support surface. I should have pick the well from smp.

I then moved on over a power arc from specialized I’d give a 8 on 10 for shape and comfort. It work as a good as the smp for me.

Now, I am trying some ISM as I found an LBS that carry them. I’m getting more a 9 on 10 score. A lot more improvements for flexibility. So much that I’m thinking of lowering my handlebars.

But that’s just me.

I wish I could try the sell Italia Novu Boost and the SLR boost.
Old 01-25-2020, 08:36 PM

I used a flite many years ago. The smp stratos works for me. Check out their website for sizing recommendations. The stratos is narrow with standard padding. Smp makes many models.
Old 01-25-2020, 08:58 PM

I have been using some form of Flite for decades.
I recently switched to a SLR Superflow

I have to say it is very comfortable
The only niggle is it is slightly wider mid saddle than flite
Just slightly & I only notice during first 10 minutes & it is getting less as weeks go by.

In any case something I did not know is Flite is slightly more narrow mid saddle due to longer section from nose till flair out starts