Know the rules The Paceline Forum Builder's Spotlight

Go Back   The Paceline Forum > General Discussion

Old 05-17-2022, 04:54 PM

Bon Jon Pass Endurance Experience?

Anybody have feedback on the Rene Herse Bon Jon Pass endurance tire? I’ve been riding the standard version for about three years and really like them, but a sidewall hole has me wondering if I should switch to the endurance model. These would be on my gravel bike that gets ridden mainly on rough pavement and a small bit of gravel. Wondering if I give up any speed or feel if I switch from standard to endurance?
Old 05-17-2022, 05:33 PM
Meh

This is my highly subjective opinion, and only that:

The Endurance casings improve the horrible reliability of RH tires. Both Standard and EL casings in my own experience led to a series of ride ending catastrophic sidewall failures. The ELs are also dubious as tubeless tires at best due to sidewall leakage. Endurance casings also fix this.

However, the tradeoff is that they don’t have quite the same cushy floaty “feel” as the lighter casings, and in the end with the Endurance casing you are paying the very high RH premium for a tire that doesn’t offer much above what much cheaper alternatives have.

Also, the color is shoe-polish brown.
Old 05-17-2022, 05:36 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eli Bingham View Post
This is my highly subjective opinion, and only that:

The Endurance casings improve the horrible reliability of RH tires. Both Standard and EL casings in my own experience led to a series of ride ending catastrophic sidewall failures. The ELs are also dubious as tubeless tires at best due to sidewall leakage. Endurance casings also fix this.

However, the tradeoff is that they don’t have quite the same cushy floaty “feel” as the lighter casings, and in the end with the Endurance casing you are paying the very high RH premium for a tire that doesn’t offer much above what much cheaper alternatives have.

Also, the color is shoe-polish brown.
This 100%.