Know the rules The Paceline Forum Builder's Spotlight

Go Back   The Paceline Forum > General Discussion

Old 01-24-2020, 09:33 AM

OT: Woodworking cyclists here? Dust collection question!

Okay, this question is truly OT, but given the expertise and scope of the members here on the PL, I figured I'd likely get a better response, and more learned response than in some other forums!

I'm a hobby woodworker, and am getting more into it. I'll always be an amateur, but I love it. It is 180 degrees from what I do as a career, and perhaps that's why I enjoy it. I'm lucky to have a good sized garage (and with plenty of driveway space, no need to park a car inside). I'd like to expand my woodworking space in the garage, but also don't want to coat everything in there with a fine particulate dust everytime I use a power tool, for instance. My bikes / bike stands / bike workshop area is also in the garage, so I want to be able to keep that area clean and sawdust free...

Does anyone here have experience with those fancy dust collection systems for woodworking shops? Are they highly effective at keeping the dust down from power tools? I could, in theory, throw up a stud wall and enclose the bike area, but I prefer a nice open garage if at all possible...

Your experience / advice / suggestions are sought!

Thanks in advance PL!
Old 01-24-2020, 09:46 AM

I don't know much about the specific design and specification, but at work we have a 4 person cabinetmaking shop and it's remarkably clean. Ducts connect to all the machines and the air is sucked through large trash can sized filters. So I think a key element would be to ensure that the machinery you buy has collection ports for such a system.
I'm sure there are others with more specific info.
Old 01-24-2020, 10:05 AM

I went to a guitar factory last year and it was absolutely immaculate... they had a massive dust collection system plumbed through the entire factory.