Know the rules The Paceline Forum Builder's Spotlight

Go Back   The Paceline Forum > General Discussion

Old 03-16-2018, 08:36 AM

Campy EPS

I have zero experience with EPS products. What are the major difference between V2 and V3 ? Record and Super Record ? I did a quick search and didn't see anything.

Thanks, Ken
Old 03-16-2018, 08:46 AM

As for record vs super record. They still use the same system so i would say its pretty much the same as with mechanical record vs super record, the differences are very few and usually only comes down to some stuff beeing titanium or one more area carved out of the carbon for weight savings and similar.

The major difference for v2 vs v3 is that if you are doing an internal battery (most are these days..) the installation is much easier with v3 and the charging even more so. V2 required a port in the frame or taking the battery out to charge whilst v3 now charges via junction box.

This is my understandings from reading to much stuff on here amd elsewhere. I have had a few eps groups but i actually never installed them on my own bikes as i somehow always changed my mind and went for mechanical instead. I did ride it a few times and i like it. I just think its not for me..
Old 03-16-2018, 08:47 AM
Proud Grandpa

Quote:
Originally Posted by tuscanyswe View Post
As for record vs super record. They still use the same system so i would say its pretty much the same as with mechanical record vs super record, the differences are very few and usually only comes down to some stuff beeing titanium or one more area carved out of the carbon for weight savings and similar.

The major difference for v2 vs v3 is that if you are doing an internal battery the installation is much easier with v3 and the charging even more so. V2 required a port in the frame or taking the battery out to charge whilst v3 now charges via junction box.