Know the rules The Paceline Forum Builder's Spotlight

Go Back   The Paceline Forum > General Discussion

Old 11-03-2017, 12:15 AM

oval rings

Who has been using them? do you have to use them on all you bikes?
Old 11-03-2017, 01:17 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by fogrider View Post
Who has been using them? do you have to use them on all you bikes?
I have been using it on and off since 2008. I like them so much that I have them on all my bikes.
Old 11-03-2017, 08:32 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by yashcha View Post
I have been using it on and off since 2008. I like them so much that I have them on all my bikes.
what does on and off mean? I was planning on building a gravel bike and was thinking of using an oval ring, can I leave my other bikes with round rings?
Old 11-03-2017, 08:48 PM
Princess Sweat

I'm going to run an oval ring on a SSCX-D should be interesting.
Old 11-03-2017, 08:53 PM

I have wolftooth oval rings on my FS MTB and my fatbike. I notice it on the FS bike when climbing. I notice it on my fatbike when spinning on pavement. Seems to smooth out my pedal stroke, and the fatbike isn’t as “bouncy” on the road.
Old 11-03-2017, 08:55 PM

Friend of mine just tested the AbsoluteBlack rings for Pez. He liked them, although he said he couldn't really tell a difference. So what was to like, if there wasn't a difference? Well, according to him, he COULD tell when he went from sitting to standing & vice-versa. Felt smoother. He ran them as 52/36, if that matters to you.
Old 11-03-2017, 08:59 PM

Quote:
what does on and off mean? I was planning on building a gravel bike and was thinking of using an oval ring, can I leave my other bikes with round rings?