Know the rules The Paceline Forum Builder's Spotlight

Go Back   The Paceline Forum > General Discussion

Old 09-12-2017, 06:36 PM

Shimano hydraulic brake swap/installation-type question...

Okay, so, I'm going to be switching my Parlee Chebacco from Mechanical/Hydraulic to di2/Hydraulic. The internal di2 wiring looks pretty straight forward and I think the brakes shouldn't be a problem. But, I'm wondering...can I can keep all the brake housing on the frame (and connected to the calipers) and simply swap out the levers? It looks like I just have to uncouple the housing from the mechanical shifters and swap them over to the di2 shifters. Am I correct in this assumption?
Obviously, I'd have to deal with the mineral oil and bleed the brakes again but it seems suspiciously straightforward to me.
Anything else I should take into consideration before attempting this?
Old 09-12-2017, 06:55 PM

I have no experience with road hydro, but that's how it works with mountain bikes. And with a bit of deftness and luck you don't need to do more than "burp" them. I would certainly give it a good eyeball and try it unless I saw something obviously prohibiting it.
Old 09-12-2017, 07:20 PM

I have to do the same thing since I am switching to flat mount brakes. Do the metal ends (olives?) need to be replaced? This is the first bike I have owned with Hydro.
Old 09-12-2017, 09:19 PM

Shimano hydraulic brake swap/installation-type question...

Quote:
Originally Posted by yashcha View Post
I have to do the same thing since I am switching to flat mount brakes. Do the metal ends (olives?) need to be replaced? This is the first bike I have owned with Hydro.

Olives do not need to be replaced unless you need a different fitting to attach the hose to the caliper.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Old 09-12-2017, 09:38 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by cogclog View Post
Olives do not need to be replaced unless you need a different fitting to attach the hose to the caliper.