Know the rules The Paceline Forum Builder's Spotlight

Go Back   The Paceline Forum > General Discussion

Old 04-25-2020, 07:30 PM

Initial Impressions of Etap AXS

Been thinking about trying Etap for a while. Having been a 100% Campy guy for 15'sh years, it took me a while to pull the trigger. I am having a new custom Ti bike built, so perfect opportunity to try Etap while I'm waiting (and I can have the new frame built without any need for (gear) cable guides or EPS holes.

Couple of considerations for me, I am not abandoning my collection of campy compatible wheels, so gonna be a mix of components. I ended up with AXS RD/FD/Shifters, Campy 12-speed cassette, KMC 12-speed chain. I have been riding Rotor Q-Rings for several years and was hoping to be able to continue. Had I thought about (how many things that start that way turn out well !?!?!) I would have realized that the AXS FD was built for a max large chainring of 50T. So even my 'smallish' 50T Q is more like 52T at its max measurement. Needless to say, that didn't work, but I found a crazy deal online for a new Red 22 C2 crankset, so using that.

Found the pairing to be the ultimate in ease, literally. The installation was fine, albeit it is a bit 'fiddly' compared to setting up EPS. Micro-adjusting the RD takes some time. To be honest was a little worried, because on the stand, I could never get the set-up to be quiet, always felt slightly out of 'tune'.