Know the rules The Paceline Forum Builder's Spotlight

Go Back   The Paceline Forum > General Discussion

Old 05-26-2020, 05:43 PM

In search of a bike that I actually keep

Hi Paceline.

Long time lurker, first time poster looking for some advice...

I have been cycling since maybe 2011 and have gone through more bikes than I can count in that time - maybe 25? Cross, touring, road, track, mountain... all of them. I always come back to road cycling as being the only one that has any real staying power.

I hail from the UK and back in early 2017 I had this built:

At the time, I was doing a lot of audaxing, hence the permanent fenders, lighting, discs and 30c tyres. I thought it would be the bike I keep forever...

Since it was built, I have moved to Los Angeles, via New York and this bike just makes no sense here. It's perfect for audax/foul weather riding, but not much else, for example climbing up the many foothills and mountains in and around Los Angeles.

I want something that is not affected by new standards or passing trends, so I am looking at a simple and timeless titanium rim braked road bike with fairly normal half-way-between-race-and-endurance geometry.

So far, the options I'm looking at are Seven and Honey. A couple of reasons for this: quicker than most turnaround time, decades of frame building experience with Ti and good reputations. I am almost 100% sure that Honey off the peg sizes will fit me - if that is the case, is there really any reason to order a Seven over a Honey? I care not for fancy decals or paintjobs, I just want the bike to do a job = be the best pure road bicycle that I can afford. I have an R7000 105 group and R7000/DT R460 wheels already so I only need a frameset.