Know the rules The Paceline Forum Builder's Spotlight

Go Back   The Paceline Forum > General Discussion

Old 10-21-2018, 06:06 PM
Gravel Grinder

Squirrel

I’ve been riding bikes for 30+ years, and hit a squirrel today for the first time ever. Actually, the poor bastard hit me ... did a last second 180 right into my front wheel. Luckily it didn’t go through my spokes. Not sure how he fared ... I didn’t want to look back and see the carnage. Didn’t see any blood on my wheel though, so I’m going with the thought that he survived the encounter.

Pretty amazing that this is the first time I’ve hit an animal in all these years. Plenty of bugs and bees, but never a mammal.
Old 10-21-2018, 06:17 PM
SageOfMilwaukee

I had a squirrel take me out in a cross race last year. Took my front wheel out and I went down in a sh*t heap.

General rule of thumb for the squirrel situations is aim for where they are when you see them, as they will most likely get spooked and move when you get close.
Old 10-21-2018, 06:43 PM

Years ago one shot out and into my front where before I could react. He (or she?) went around a few times in my front wheel and shot out the other side. I braked quick, certain I decapitated the beast. There was no evidence of him anywhere. I think their bones are made of rubber. Squirrels, and cockroaches, will inherit the earth.
Old 10-21-2018, 07:11 PM
Gravel Grinder

Quote:
Originally Posted by verbs4us View Post
Squirrels, and cockroaches, will inherit the earth.
And here I always thought it was the meek ... at least that’s what Geddy tells me.
Old 10-21-2018, 10:27 PM

No squirrel trouble in my life. I just hold my line and they eventually choose to live.

Armadillos. Twice. Both times the stupid bastiches were browsing near a trail and panicked when I got close and shot off in the wrong direction. Wrong as in right into me. Both times going off the back of my front tire and under the bottom bracket. They were okay after these encounters.