Know the rules The Paceline Forum Builder's Spotlight

Go Back   The Paceline Forum > General Discussion

Old 03-22-2024, 08:42 AM

A different kind of tire problem..

So im still relatively new to big ole tires/wide rims and im having a weird issue that ive never experienced before.

Slow leak in my front tire (700x42) and figured id finally tackle it the other day. I take all the air out and grab a tire lever, but I cant wedge the tire lever down between the tire bead and the rim. And im not talking about getting under the bead, but even just to the side of the bead. Almost like the two beads of the tire are glued to the widest part of the rim bed. And no amount of squeezing, pinching, pushing gets it to budge.

Any ideas?

Im assuming that that means that this is going to be a very tight fit when I try to eventually get the tire back on.
Old 03-22-2024, 08:48 AM

Tubeless with sealant?
If so, sealant is "gluing" the tire to the rim, a set of pliers with something soft on the jaws should help.
Old 03-22-2024, 09:32 AM

If they are tubeless, do you have removable valve cores? If so you could always remove the valve core and add more sealant and reinflate.

If you are using tubes, what has worked for me in the past is prop one side of the wheel up so the hub is off the ground, then use your foot to step down on the tire that is touching the ground and pull the rim up towards you. Once you unseat the bead from the rim continue working around the wheel until it is fully unseated. Work two tire levers under the bead about 4" apart and then together pop the bead over the rim. Hope that helps.
Old 03-22-2024, 09:33 AM

I didnt think these were setup as tubeless (tho i bought the bike second hand), but that would make sense whats different about these. I hope thats the case because i was afraid it was a super tight rim/tire combo! Will try some soft-jaws!
Old 03-22-2024, 09:39 AM

Here is another related one.