Know the rules The Paceline Forum Builder's Spotlight

Go Back   The Paceline Forum > General Discussion

Old 08-31-2019, 11:09 AM

OT: Talk my partner out of a Keurig?

So, my wife just started a professional MBA and wants fast and easy coffee. I really hate the idea of Keurig, but don't have any great reasons other than the associated waste and thought of another small appliance. What should we do?

A little background: I am a tea and espresso guy, loose leaf black tea at home and espresso from select coffee shops. My wife on the other hand likes brewed coffee and is not quite as picky as me. At home we have Hario v60, Chemex, and French press. I got the Hario and Chemex to make her nice coffee but honestly I am not that good at using them. She also doesn't love coffee from the French press and wants something faster/easier.

Should we consider a traditional drip single serv? Maybe I should perfect my pour over skills? Anyone have other ideas or methods they think could work for us, or support for the Keurig?
Old 08-31-2019, 11:13 AM

I'm no coffee'phile and I don't like Keurig coffee, that's what my employer offers. If committed to fast and easy Nespresso is FAR better, the couple dozen times I've had it I was impressed.

Sent from my LM-X410UM using Tapatalk

Last edited by donevwil; 08-31-2019 at 11:21 AM. Reason: Honest, I can spell.
Old 08-31-2019, 11:17 AM

Yeah, get a Nespresso. They recycle the pods, and the coffee is better. And then plant a few trees if you feel wasteful.
Old 08-31-2019, 11:17 AM

Nespresso is pretty good and the pods are aluminum and you can recycle them.

I had a Keurig and felt like the coffee always tasted like plastic.
Old 08-31-2019, 11:18 AM

Let her enjoy coffee the way she likes.
Old 08-31-2019, 11:20 AM