Know the rules The Paceline Forum Builder's Spotlight

Go Back   The Paceline Forum > General Discussion

Old 01-17-2019, 07:28 PM

Going Backwards from Leather Saddle to Plastic on my Fierte?

The rain has kept me from getting my new Serotta IT Fierte fine tuned, but it's coming along slowly and I need some suggestions.

I've been riding for forty years and it took me thirty-five years to find a saddle that causes me NO pain or discomfort. It's the all leather Sella Anatomica. Can't say enough about this saddle, it "disappears" beneath me and lets me ride for hours without ever thinking about my rear end. It is the ONE piece of equipment that has had the most positive effect on my riding....ever!

However, now that I have this new Fierte, I am trying to reduce the weight while changing out some components and fine tuning it. The looks of the saddle doesn't bother me, but it certainly is on the heavy side. I'd just like to keep this elegant little carbon and Ti thing as light and svelte as possible.

So this question is for leather saddle converts. Have you ever "gone backwards" and found any type of plastic saddle that worked for you as well as your leather saddle did? I have eight saddles on my wall, and it was just an exercise in $$ and various levels of pain. By the way, I'm 130lbs and don't have a lot of padding back there and have fairly narrow sit bone dimensions.

Thanks in advance.
Old 01-17-2019, 07:35 PM
Administrator

if:

A) the SA works well for you
B) looks are not relevant
C) you are trying to save weight

are true,

then:

Old 01-17-2019, 07:46 PM

Yea, but the new saddle does have to be comfortable. I think the jury is still out on the comfort of the all carbon SA....unless you know something more than I do??
Old 01-17-2019, 07:51 PM

If weight is the issue, SA makes a version of your saddle with an aluminum frame, saving 100 gr.

https://selleanatomica.com/collectio...es/products/x2
Old 01-17-2019, 07:53 PM
Boeuf Chaîne