Know the rules The Paceline Forum Builder's Spotlight

Go Back   The Paceline Forum > General Discussion

Old 08-06-2016, 06:50 AM

Why do you like vintage steel bikes?

I often wonder why I like old steel bikes. I really don’t have a long history of road biking, no real memory of the time when these bikes were being raced or even much interest in road cycling during that time. My first real consciousness about racing was Lemond at the end of his career and even then I was not “into” it really.

I loved bikes as a young boy and road BMX and even raced a couple times. I road everywhere on them. However, It was much later that I started riding on the road (in the early 90’s) and that was on a misfit garage sale bike. That bike was traded for another misfit bike at a pawn shop and then I was hooked. I was about 25 at the time I guess.

Then later in college around 1996 I bought a brand new Serotta CR and scored a full Chorus build locally. I think that was an early craigslist score which had just started up a year or two earlier.

I was hooked at that point. I still had no clue (I still don’t really) what I was doing but not knowing anything I loved the bike, and the Chorus stuff was like bike jewelry. I was going to school for Physics at the University of Washington and all I did was study and ride my bike around lake Washington (about 50 miles) whenever I could.

I still feel like a newbie now but I have not stopped riding since and when I see an old steel bike I get all dreamy eyed.

I especially like the bikes from the 70’s and 80’s that I see on here. Simple lines, lean and purposeful.

I have had Carbon and Aluminum and I have nothing bad at all to say about them but they just don’t do much for me.

The funny thing is I am not an old “car” guy. I like modern cars with good brakes and steering and clean exhaust.

Why do you guys like them?
Old 08-06-2016, 06:51 AM
Head to Ned

This is a rhetorical question?
Old 08-06-2016, 07:21 AM

Quote: