Know the rules The Paceline Forum Builder's Spotlight

Go Back   The Paceline Forum > General Discussion

Old 06-29-2022, 10:22 AM
Meh

When to replace a rotor vs. when to re-true it?

Here's one for the hivemind to argue over - when do you replace a rotor vs. try to true it back?

I'm an average mechanic and re-truing rotors has never been something I feel confident doing - always worried I'm going to make it worse, and I know the LBS can probably do it. But we're not being practical here, so let's throw out the LBS option for the moment.

Context: After two days of 7000' descents at Ashland Mountain, I discovered both rotors on my Forbidden are warped - the trails at Ashland are FAST and I'm a bit of a brake dragger sometimes, so obviously my fault. I can replace them, but the fancy XTR centerlock rotors I prefer are $88 each!

When do you bin the rotors and just get new ones, and when do you go in with a wrench and a prayer and try to get them straight yourself? What's your personal rule?

(If your answer is #savetherimbrake you lose the game)
Old 06-29-2022, 10:39 AM

Assuming you haven't discolored them too bad from over heating and they're not below minimum thickness then using the rotor straightening tool is fine. I've found the higher end rotors tend to bend easier from knocks.
Old 06-29-2022, 10:45 AM

6 bolt beefy rotors FTW.
Old 06-29-2022, 10:47 AM

I retrue rotors all the time. It's not a big deal. Like catchourbreath said, I only replace if they're discolored or too thin.

If you have the tool, retruing rotors doesn't take a lot of skill. You just keep wiggling it around until they stop rubbing.
Old 06-29-2022, 10:56 AM

I’m a very out of practice mechanic but truing rotors is one I even haven’t bungled. I use park tool rotor tool and carefully tweak them with positive results each time.
Old 06-29-2022, 05:53 PM

We had the Morningstar Disc Truing set at the shop I worked at.
Two holder wrenches and a bending wrench.