Know the rules The Paceline Forum Builder's Spotlight

Go Back   The Paceline Forum > General Discussion

Old 05-14-2024, 02:13 PM

Garmin Virtual Partner: friend or foe?

I've searched forums, asked cycling friends, even (gasp) read the Garmin Edge manual. No one knows, but it's universally disdained and or shrugged. What is it, and how is it calculated (e.g., time averaged for similar grades, for you or everyone on that segment?) What is the mutable 100% on the virtual partner screen? So. Many. Questions.

Last edited by Carbonita; 05-14-2024 at 03:09 PM.
Old 05-14-2024, 02:16 PM

I've been using my Garmin for 4 years and have never quite figured out what that thing is. I only notice it when I get a notification that my "virtual partner" has finished my route before I did. Rude!!
Old 05-14-2024, 02:34 PM

Virtual Partner = carrot on a stick, so foe.

Old 05-14-2024, 03:25 PM

Useless feature to check off on the spec sheet, for one thing it has no awareness of different environmental factors on a given day. Actually it is much like the Strava KOM feature, and the "training status" feature, and the "recommended workout" feature, and the "fitness condition" or whatever it is called that alerts 10 minutes into a ride.

I swear the training status features could not be more wrong for me. It's like a comedy routine and I assume my status is always the opposite of what it says and that I should do the complete opposite of what it recommends.

I was in the middle of a rest week 2 weeks ago completely and utterly cooked, like Training Peaks or whatever said I was -25. Garmin proceeds to say my status is like +5 or something and gives me a recommended workout of 3x 20 minutes at threshold or something when I haven't even completed a 1x 20 minute threshold workout the entire season other than an FTP test.

Haha.. I have a 1030, maybe they fixed all this on the x40/xx40 devices and just didn't apply the patch to the x30/xx30 devices? But I kind of doubt it.