Know the rules The Paceline Forum Builder's Spotlight

Go Back   The Paceline Forum > General Discussion

Old 04-17-2021, 07:02 PM

Materials (specifically steel), ride feel, and build details

Prior to my current bike, I rode a Serotta made with Columbus SLX, which I've noted to be particularly springy (totally got me hooked on the steel bike train!). Ended up selling it because it was a little large for me.

Since then, I've been riding my Bob Jackson with 853 OS steel for close to 5 years now, so this bike has seen my varying levels of fitness/weight. For the most part I've enjoyed the bike as a very smooth ride.

With my recent weight loss (close to 50lbs), I've dropped from 210lbs to 160lbs or thereabouts. Climbing has definitely been more enjoyable. However on my most recent ride, I really started thinking about tubing and design. Namely, I wonder now if my lower weight/power output is perhaps not enough to elicit the same level of "springiness" that I enjoyed on the Serotta.

Previous threads on the forum have often cited builder's ability to elicit certain ride characteristics supercede build material (ie. an aluminium/carbon bike can be made to "feel compliant").

Given the trend for OS steel tubing in modern bikes, I am wondering if the forum can enlighten me:
Can a builder's touch elicit the "springiness" of old, thin diameter steel tubing (Columbus SLX, Reynolds 531) using modern day OS tubing? Would it require perhaps using different steel for different segments of the bike?

Thanks for entertaining my convoluted question!
Old 04-17-2021, 07:18 PM
aka RAEKWON

why not just use thin diameter tubing? still can get that and build a springy bike.
Old 04-17-2021, 07:30 PM

while my experience is with titanium, it might still apply?
not even a single one of the five ti bikes (Seven, No22, Moots, DeSalvo, Dean) that i have had with OS tubing have been able to replicate the "liveliness/springiness/comfort" of my thin diameter ti bikes of the past.