Know the rules The Paceline Forum Builder's Spotlight

Go Back   The Paceline Forum > General Discussion

Old 03-06-2023, 08:17 AM

Erie Canal Trail questions… Novice level!!

I have the opportunity to ride from Albany, NY to Buffalo, NY in mid May using the Erie Canal Trail. Ideally, I would like to continue to Muskegon, MI in order to catch the ferry to Milwaukee, then meeting my wife who will be visiting friends in Kenosha, WI.
I have NO experience with touring on a bike. I would like to enter Canada at Buffalo, ride west, and enter the US in Detroit. Is this possible? I have a valid US passport.
If the 2 border crossings prove to be too big of a problem, I am not opposed to riding along the south shore of Lake Erie (staying in the US).
I only have ~18 days or so, so if I cant make it I would either catch and Amtrak to Kenosha or rent a one way car. I need to be in Kenosha by June 2nd.

Any advice on any of this? I’ve just begun research yesterday, so I still know less than nothing.

Thanks!
Old 03-06-2023, 08:28 AM

In Michigan so far as I know you’ll be doing mostly road riding. Once out of detroit metro area there probably lots of options for lightly traveled roads.

Going north and crossing at Port Huron would be a preferable option in my opinion. It’s a more rural area except for flint which you would want to go north or south of to avoid the area. Not sure that they would allow bikes on any of the bridges. There is a fairy that crosses in between port Huron and detroit which might be a good option not sure exactly which town though.
Old 03-06-2023, 09:17 AM

On my cross country bike tour in 2015, I did the same route you're referring to from the Erie Canal, border crossing at Niagara Falls, then pedaled as close as possible along the north shore of Lake Erie. Plenty of campgrounds along the way.