Know the rules The Paceline Forum Builder's Spotlight

Go Back   The Paceline Forum > General Discussion

Old 05-18-2019, 01:52 PM

Mountain bike help - suggestions

I started looking online at MTB's and am frankly overwhelmed. So much out there, and I have zero knowledge of mtb tech! Things like why single chainring cranks, enduro vs. cross country, full suspension vs. front shock, carbon vs. aluminum, gruppo types, frame size (I ride a road 54/55), 650B vs. 29'er, best type of rims for my use, and on and on. Not least of which, what kind of clothing does one wear riding offroad, for practicality as well as not looking like a total dork?

For reference, I'm not a complete mtb rookie--a seeming lifetime ago I had good amount of experience on hardtails and then had an mtb (Stumpjumper) with front suspension. I just have not kept up with anything mtb since the mid 90's, and literally haven't been on a mtb ride since around then as well.

Here's what my interests are: basic trail riding, mix of up and down, locale is Orange County, CA (coastal areas as well as venturing inland/Silverado/etc.). Not interested in bombing downhills but something that soaks up some bumps. Would like reasonable weight, not a heifer but not ultra light either (assuming light stuff on an mtb = $$$). Budget in the $3k +/- range (used). I hopped on local craigslist and frankly have no idea why one bike costs $3k and another one is $6k.

Am going to hit up a few local LBS's as well to see what they have, but in there I'm a baby seal going into a killer whale-populated waters. Won't have any idea what the salesman is saying, either bs'ing me or being honest.

Would appreciate any recommendations, including a good mtb forum (or if you're local to OC, a reputable shop with someone you know there who won't screw me on bike recommendation).

Last edited by 54ny77; 05-18-2019 at 02:22 PM.
Old 05-18-2019, 02:04 PM

My vote is for a hardtail.