Know the rules The Paceline Forum Builder's Spotlight

Go Back   The Paceline Forum > General Discussion

Old 12-31-2019, 06:16 PM

DI2 Front derailleur only, is it possible?

I currently have a bike set up with Dura Ace 9100 and love the way it shifts. I borrowed a friend's bike to try out his Ultegra DI2 and didn't fall in love with it. I kept hitting the wrong button and really missed the tactile feel of moving an actual lever. It must be why I still drive a manual transmission vehicle as well.

However, having that little motor move the front derailleur was amazing. Which got me thinking of a half electronic, half mechanical system. Is it possible to setup only a front derailleur as DI2 or do I need to have the rear derailleur connected to complete the system? Could I just plug the rear derailleur wire into the controller to trick the system into thinking it's there? From the research I've done so far, I think the answer is no but I have no experience with it at all. I'm hoping someone here can confirm whether it's possible or not.

Thanks.
Old 12-31-2019, 06:46 PM

give the system a few more days...

my guess you'll learn to love it. Shimano levers are not the best user interface (Sram is) but humans have brains and hands that master most basic motor skills and once they are working together, my guess is you'll consider all these words a waste of time.
Old 12-31-2019, 06:58 PM

Agreed with above. Could you do it? Maybe, but then you lose the trim functionality of the FD which is half the appeal of Di2. Not worth the effort. Just get the new style levers with more click.
Old 01-01-2020, 06:26 AM
Proud Grandpa

Quote:
I borrowed a friend's bike to try out his Ultegra DI2 and didn't fall in love with it. I kept hitting the wrong button and really missed the tactile feel of moving an actual lever. It must be why I still drive a manual transmission vehicle as well.