Know the rules The Paceline Forum Builder's Spotlight

Go Back   The Paceline Forum > General Discussion

Old 10-05-2024, 09:11 AM

Permethrin treated tights?

Increasing cases of alpha gal here on MV have me wanting to up my tick repellent game from permethrin treated socks. I can't find tights that come pre-treated. Insect Shield has women's leggings but no comparable product for men, and those are 90% cotton 10% spandex so I wonder how they keep their shape.

Any pointers? I can treat my own with permethrin solution but that doesn’t last as well as factory treated applications.
Old 10-05-2024, 09:39 AM

I think I'd rather just treat my own.

How do you know how long the factory treatment lasts?

SPP
Old 10-05-2024, 09:45 AM

I've been using the spray-on Sawyers Product Permethrin for the last 5 years for yard work, trail work and hiking here in coastal Maine. Instructions say to reapply every 6 weeks or 6 washings. It works as I haven't even seen a tick on the clothes or me after using the clothing. I also use a pair of tick guard gaiters for when I know the risk is especially high like when brush clearing. I have seen numerous ticks on them while in the field as they are a lighter beige color. Easy to brush off in those cases.

I don't find the protection process cumbersome or expensive at all and I like that I'm in control of the process instead of the clothing manufacturer. I mean eventually, you'd have to replace your clothing or reapply Permethrin anyway, so why not be in control from the get go? At least that's my thinking.

I also couple the Permethrin treated clothing with Picardin on the skin for a more complete protection.

Avoiding a meat allergy is surely high on the list of things to avoid. But babesiosis and Lymes disease are just as high on the list for me as I know several people who have had those diseases. One of my best friends even lost his career to Lymes disease and even 20 years later still suffers the effects of chronic Lymes.