Know the rules The Paceline Forum Builder's Spotlight

Go Back   The Paceline Forum > General Discussion

Old 07-30-2020, 10:25 PM

Track bike advice

I am pretty new to track racing and was wondering what the thoughts are on used track bikes? I am considering a used steel track bike from the 90’s, but wondering if something newer would be better possibly aluminium? Help a newbie out!! :-)

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Old 07-30-2020, 10:38 PM

Well, it depends IMO.

Are going to just give it a try or are serious about it?

What frame are we talking about here? a lot of non track stuff marketed as such in the market. Even seen some road colnagos super that had the drop outs swapped for track ones.

As for aluminum or steel, IMO if the geometry is the right one you can do track even in a bike made of straight gauge tubing.
Old 07-30-2020, 10:55 PM

Go get a Bianchi Pista or Felt whatever their entry level track frame is, and go have fun.
Old 07-30-2020, 10:57 PM

Unless we are talking about the old bianchi pista and not the new chromed ones that I would not even put them in the same category of the old bianchi pista... yes, i would pick that.

The chromed ones arent even close to a track frame if this dude is serious going into racing, if he is going to taste it and just mess with it, even an old road bike will do, just put fix gear and go to race. Yeah the BB height... as long as you are pedaling u shouldnt have problems because the BB is tad low.

A lot of guys in the track over there at london canada in road bikes, hell i went with one years ago ;D

Last edited by ultraman6970; 07-30-2020 at 11:01 PM.
Old 07-30-2020, 11:14 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by ultraman6970 View Post
Unless we are talking about the old bianchi pista and not the new chromed ones that I would not even put them in the same category of the old bianchi pista... yes, i would pick that.