Know the rules The Paceline Forum Builder's Spotlight

Go Back   The Paceline Forum > General Discussion

Old 10-16-2023, 09:44 AM

Colnago bike weight

Hello!

I am a bike novice and found a CLD Colnago team edition (woman) on Facebook market place. My goal is to train for the race from Seattle to Portland.

I am around 220 lbs and after reaching out to Colnago, about how much this bike can hold, I am nervous if I am too big for it. They said it can hold 95kg (210lbs).

Can anyone give me insight on this?
Old 10-16-2023, 09:59 AM

I would not recommend this bike. Even if it can hold your weight, I believe these bikes can only fit 25mm tire max. For larger riders (I'm close to your weight), riding 28, 30, or even 32mm tires is a really big improvement in ride quality.

If you tell us more about what size bike you're looking for, and your budget, I'm sure the folks here could help you find a bike that would work better for you.
Old 10-16-2023, 10:03 AM

It is probably not the frame itself, but one of the components that has that 95 kg / 210 lbs weight limit. What wheelset does the bike come with?
Old 10-16-2023, 10:10 AM

Colnago really has no choice but to be conservative when officially stating a weight limit. Like others have said, look for a bike that will clear at least a 28mm tire, not so much for your weight, but to give a better ride quality for the amount of time you'll spend on this bike preparing for the ride.

I've done the STP several times and the last two times, I was 225 pounds. In 2008 and 2009, I rode my steel road bike with standard 32 spoke wheels and 25mm tires. The route didn't have any really bad roads and around 4400 feet of climbing over the 200 mile distance.
Old 10-16-2023, 11:30 AM
Vendor