Know the rules The Paceline Forum Builder's Spotlight

Go Back   The Paceline Forum > General Discussion

Old 05-08-2021, 09:12 PM

Uber/Lyft when you are stuck with your bike

I have never used Uber or Lyft rides so far. But I am now considering signing up for the Uber or Lyft app so I can call up a ride if I am stuck somewhere with my bike.

Has anyone used Uber or Lyft in such a situation where you are stuck with your bike and need a ride back to your home or car? How does it work? Do you have to request a specific vehicle which will have bike rack or enough room for a bike?

Thanks,
Jalal
Old 05-08-2021, 10:10 PM

I’m interested in the answer as well. I’m guessing it involves $$$
Old 05-08-2021, 10:37 PM

You can fit almost any bike south of 60cm in the trunk of a sedan by removing the wheels and lowering the seatpost (never had an ISP bike).

I have no specific experience with rideshare and if they are amenable to this, just saying it's physically possible for most bikes.
Old 05-08-2021, 10:42 PM

I did this in February or March. I forget. First time for me. I just booked an Uber XL (generally this'll be a sizeable 4x4) and hoped for the best. The guy turned up in a Honda CR-V or something like that. He was totally understanding, he wasn't at all bothered.

Drivers have the right to refuse you, but it'll be a waste of their time to do that. I bet they've had stranger requests than a bicycle in their trunk anyway.
Old 05-08-2021, 10:44 PM
Randomhead

I used uberX the one time I needed rescuing. You can probably fit your bike in a smaller car. Cost me $60, well worth it though.

There is someone in our club that's famous for ubering in at the end of a long ride. One time I was with him 10 miles from the finish of a 600km brevet, and he disappeared behind me. I had no time to go back and look for him, I finished with 5 minutes left on the clock. 20 minutes after I finished, he comes in an uber. His chain broke on a steep hill
Old 05-08-2021, 10:45 PM
Boeuf Chaîne