Know the rules The Paceline Forum Builder's Spotlight

Go Back   The Paceline Forum > General Discussion

Old 06-15-2019, 11:13 PM

OT: Home Audio Advice

I have zero experience with home audio / stereos and don’t really know what I’m doing...

What I want:

- Budget friendly (all in would like to stay sub $500)
- Speakers inside and outside that can be operated independently or together. Multiple zones within the house would be nice, but not critical.
- Bluetooth connectivity so I can stream from my phone or tablet
- Alexa comparability would be ideal
-The ability to connect my TV to the speakers in the living room would be nice, but isn’t essential

I am as far from an audiophile as it gets. I’m perfectly happy with audio quality from my iPhone earbuds and Echo Plus.

Can I buy normal wired speakers (like this And this ), a multi zone “thing” like this and a Bluetooth receiver like this and I’m good to go?

Being able to say “Alexa - play Cat Stevens in the bedroom” or “play German heavy metal by the pool” would be the ultimate goal. Not sure how the “smart” device would be able to differentiate zones with the above set up though. I think at best I could get it to play the Alexa music through the receiver then I would need to manually select the zone.

Any thoughts? Am I way over or under thinking this? Am I better off just getting a couple Sonos speakers and bringing a portable speaker outside when I want music out there? I would prefer speakers be integrated into the wall/ceiling though since I’ll soon have three kids under 5 and would prefer not to have expensive stuff on tables plugged into the wall.
Old 06-16-2019, 12:41 AM

Staying under 500 is going to be hard given your requirements.

Sonos ticks all the boxes except budget. Get a sonos beam for your tv and a play one for each of your rooms.
Old 06-16-2019, 06:51 AM

Sonos - it is great!!