Know the rules The Paceline Forum Builder's Spotlight

Go Back   The Paceline Forum > General Discussion

Old 09-14-2019, 12:15 PM
Administrator

OT: Phone or iWatch or...?

Well, it's about time to get a new cell and I was starting to consider whether I want to stay with a Samsung or switch to an iPhone? Throw into the mix that my sister has an iWatch that recently notified her that she was going into AFib which was confirmed. That got me to thinking about the watches. A cursor look indicates they can do a lot of things the standard phones can do so maybe that is a viable alternative?

Would anyone like to share their experiences with using an iWatch, Samsung watch, or other equivalent?

Thanks,
William
Old 09-14-2019, 12:26 PM

I work in the tech field, indoors and out and have to share a lot of information all day long which does not require a phone call, just a text message. I have an old Apple watch, probably first generation and really the only thing I use it for is to read a text message on the watch and not have to take my phone out. My 2¢ worth.
Old 09-14-2019, 01:26 PM

I had an iphone and and iwatch, and now switched to samsung and a samsung watch. Functionality between the two is essentially the same. I can read and respond to texts, get notifications, do workouts, etc. The big benefit for me is that it allows me to keep my phone in my pocket more. I also love that google map directions show up on the watch and buzz my wrist when I need to turn.

Overall worth having as a package, and if the afib function is what you're after, then iwatch it is!
Old 09-14-2019, 01:54 PM

Every since getting an apple watch a couple of years ago, my Rolex sits in a drawer. The iwatch is very useful. And I have an iPhone Xs.

Both also integrate easily with my Wahoo Elemnt.
Old 09-14-2019, 03:50 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by dbnm View Post