Know the rules The Paceline Forum Builder's Spotlight

Go Back   The Paceline Forum > General Discussion

Old 08-01-2019, 06:50 AM

Secure clip-on saddle bags

Getting tired of doing and undoing my current strap/ buckle saddle bag on the commuter.
I know there are the clip-on saddle bags but have seen some reviews saying they have failed on some folks and they've lost the bag and contents.

What reliable brand of clip-on/ quick release saddle bag are you using?
Old 08-01-2019, 07:01 AM

I’ve got some ortlieb saddle bags with the quick clip system. I like them well enough. They have Velcro straps to the seatpost as a failsafe/stabilization system.

They do have a roll/buckle closure system though, so if you’re sick of buckles...
Old 08-01-2019, 07:22 AM

I have been using the Lezyne M Caddy QR on all my bikes for a couple years now, including one on my gravel bike. No issues to report.
Old 08-01-2019, 10:55 AM

How big is your bag and how much weight do you carry in it? What saddle do you have?
Old 08-01-2019, 01:44 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken Robb View Post
How big is your bag and how much weight do you carry in it? What saddle do you have?
Fizik Aliante saddle.

I have the medium size bag, with the following in it:

- One spare inner tube
- Two CO2 cartridges
- CO2 inflator
- One pair of tire levers
- One multi tool (a pretty good size one with a built-in chain tool)
- Spoke wrench (three sided)
Old 08-01-2019, 02:04 PM

I've steered away from clip-on bags after finding a bunch of them over the years. Gimme velcro.
Old 08-01-2019, 02:15 PM

The Rixen and Kaul "KlickFix" and SciCon bags and systems are both excellent, very secure.

The R & K requires two fingers to press in a two-sided clip to disengage the bag, whereas the SciCon system is even easier: just grab the bag, turn 1/4 turn, and it is out. I have used both systems for many years, with never a single issue, on Fizik Arione saddles, on road and off. The bag/clip quality is very high on both.