Know the rules The Paceline Forum Builder's Spotlight

Go Back   The Paceline Forum > General Discussion

Old 08-12-2022, 10:37 AM

Latex or Tubeless? Its not what you think...

I have run inner tubes, latex, Aerothans. Light tubes are amazing for going fast. But what a pain for tight tires on carbon rims. A lot of you don't like tubeless but they have served me well for the last couple of years. I have never been left stranded. That said I am jinxed
Old 08-12-2022, 10:41 AM

Stans Race Sealant for new install and topped up through valve with Stans regular. I am currently running Silca Ultimate Sealant with carbon fibers. Carbon is faster
Old 08-12-2022, 10:55 AM

I have been riding road bikes with tubed tires for about 50 years. I have called someone to come and get me once due to a flat, mini-pump was broken. I believe the longest walk with a bike was about 4miles, broken chain and I was in my teens, a long time ago.
Old 08-12-2022, 02:54 PM

I'm in Wyoming for about 5-6 weeks. I brought two sets of wheels, both tubeless. I just want to ride and not think about flats. Tubeless has never left me stranded. My only calls of shame have been when I got the third flat and had no tubes left.
Old 08-12-2022, 04:51 PM

Until it does then you have a mess of sealant on your hands, frame, kit, shoes, and the riding buddies behind you.

Low pressure, less then 40psi, tubeless works great.
Old 08-12-2022, 09:18 PM

I've been on all tubeless since 2017 with 25-28mm road tires at 80ish psi and have never had a puncture that blew sealant everywhere. I only saw it once, and it was a sliced tire; nothing would react well to that. I run 32s tubeless at 60 psi and the same thing. Whenever there's a thread about tubeless, someone posts a horror story about a tubeless puncture. How many are anecdotal, and how many are personal experiences?